#lovetheclothesyouhave

by Alison Gerber

myshoes

Considering the average American is buying 62 items of clothing each year, and that we are purchasing 400% more clothing than we did 20 years ago, and that we produce 11 million tons of textile waste each year I find myself asking the question: what if we stop all this buying, and instead really start enjoying the clothes we already have?

You know there some really great things in your wardrobe already. That dress. Those boots. That perfect cozy sweater. You know the one I’m talking about.

And you know as well as I do there are some pretty neglected things in your wardrobe too. That shirt you have with the tags still on, for crying out loud. It’s about time you wear it.

So this is my plan for the next week. To love my wardrobe. As is. No new additions for seven days. To bring out the old favorites, and some forgotten beauties. Want to join me?

Here’s the challenge, should you choose to accept it. Take an item from your wardrobe you barely wear (or perhaps have never worn) that fits the daily category, and make your outfit go with that. Only use what you already have!
Here are the categories:

Saturday 22nd: Shirt
Sunday 23rd: Dress
Monday 24th: Skirt
Tuesday 25th: Sweater
Wednesday 26th: Jacket
Thursday 27th: Shoes
Friday 28th: Accessory

I can’t wait to see what you all come up with. Be sure to upload your photo to instragram with the hashtag #lovetheclothesyouhave, or post photos of your progress below.

